ICT in the classroom

11 Jan

In my life, I can say that experience during teaching practice was one of the best experience that I will never forget in my life.I love children , I love to teach and I love to teach English and science.For my teaching practice, I was sent to SK Bandar Tun Razak 1, Cheras. I was assign to teach Science as well as English to year 2 Kreatif.

There were 37 pupils in the classroom which I think is quite a big number of pupils for me.The pupils were mixed abilities from good to poor proficiency.

About using the ICT in the classroom, I was rarely used ICT due to a few problems. First of all is because of my laptop which was very problematic during practicum which cause me to borrow from others and I have a very limited time to use the laptop.But, when I sent my sick laptop for service, it not show any kind of problem (as if it know that I want to sent it to the doctor;p). The second problem is about the LCD which sometimes was not working, which makes me feel bad [and hate to use LCD again:(]

However, instead of the problems, I have tried to incorporate the ICT in my classroom. The first trial was when I was using the video of Old Mcdonald’s song to teach animal’s sound.

 

The pupils were very excited, learning by watching the video and do the actions.

Besides, I also want to use the slides show to teach flowers. However, I got the problem when the LCD is not working. Therefore, I just go on with plan B, using my pictures of flowers that have printed out.

As a conclusion, I can say that ICT can be very helpful in the classroom because it can provide all the song, pictures and motions. But we must always be have plan B, in case our plan did not worked as what we planned.Another things to consider is about the school facilities where some of the school did not have enough facilities, and what we can do is just manipulate whatever we have.

4 Responses to “ICT in the classroom”

  1. illinaishak January 12, 2011 at 1:03 am #

    salam jaa šŸ™‚

    i think i have the same problem as yours too. when i want to use ICT, there will be problems coming up, so at last, i resorted to the old way of teaching, using teaching aids šŸ˜¦

    however, conventional teaching aids can be very interesting if we are able to do it as creative as we can.

    i agree with you that we need to have plan b if our real plan doesn’t work. as teachers, we need to be prepared, not just by having back-up plan, but our knowledge and aility to hndle ICT tools as well.

    šŸ™‚

    • sitikhatijah January 20, 2011 at 12:41 am #

      Wslm.

      Ili, thank for the comment=) Talking about the conventional teaching aids, it is true that conventional teaching aids can be interesting too if we use it in a creative way.The ICT is just one of the tools to help us in our teaching.

  2. gowri87 January 12, 2011 at 2:03 am #

    hi…congrats upon completing your teaching practice successfully…just would like ask u…does the amount of students in the classroom actually affect your teaching ICT??thnk you and have a great day ahead

    • sitikhatijah January 20, 2011 at 1:29 am #

      hi Gowrey,
      thank you and congrats to you too.
      Regarding the amounts of the students, I think it does affect my teaching because when the class is too crowded with many pupils,teacher need to have extra effort in order to control the class.

Leave a comment